The Shenandoah Masters

The Shenandoah Masters Golf Tournament is an invitational event that first began in 1984.  2011 marked the 27th playing of the Shenandoah Masters and it continues to be a highlight of the golf season.  This event is an 18 hole tournament held each spring at the American Legion Country club.

There are 3 champions crowned at each event.  The Overall Champion, the Handicap Champion, and the Seniors Champion.  18 holes of golf are followed by an evening meal and Masters Ceremony  with prizes,  humor, special awards, and Green Jacket presentations.   The same green jacket first presented at the inaugural event in 1984 still hangs at the Club and is presented each year to a new recipient (fitting some better than others)

Past Champions include Martin Mulligan (2010 Overall Champion), Scott Mann (2009 Overall Champion), Bob Larson (Overall and Senior Championships), Gregg Connell, Andy Dinges (2009 Handicap Champion), Jim Martin (Overall Champion) and Bryan Diekmann (2010 Handicap Champion) - just to name a few from recent years.

Some highlights from the 2011 event:
With the weather fantastic for golf, and the course in excellent condition some low scores resulted.   2010 Club Champion Cory Scamman earned his first Masters Championship by shooting a 67.  Bob Vavra shot a net score of 63 to earn the Handicap Championship, and Bob Larson shot a terrific scratch score of 72 to win the Senior Championship.

Despite the best efforts and bribery from the contestants, no hole-in-ones occurred to win the annual Hole-in-one contest, this year featuring a $10,000 cash reward.

The evening dinner and ceremony, attended by  60 of the golfers and guests featured:
      -  18 flag prizes generously donated by local residents, golfers, and businesses
      -  Additional special door prizes
      -  Skins winners
      -  Presentation of trophies, official Masters hats and Green Jackets to the 3 champions
      -  A 3rd appearance from Bob The-Hit-Man Larson for his hilarious comedy roasting of several in attendance, as well as a special appearance from Larnac The Insignificant
      -  A special 20 year Award presented to Duke Neumann commemorating his 20 years of excellent work at the American Legion Country Club.  Featuring a video slide-show of memories.
      -  The annual "Commissioner's Award" - in memory of Ron Slauter - is given each year to a recipient who exemplifies Ron's spirit, enthusiasm, and passion for golf and life.  2011 recipients were Bob and Brian Larson.  This also featured a video slide-show and plaque.

(Sorry the pictures are so blurry - we need to fire that cameraman and his "smart" phone!)

Golf Tips Of The Month



American Legion Country Club  -  1800 South Elm St. Shenandoah, IA 51601  -  712-246-3308  -