The Shenandoah Masters

The Shenandoah Masters Golf Tournament is an invitational event that first began in 1984.  2012 marked the 28th playing of the Shenandoah Masters and it continues to be a highlight of the golf season.  This event is an 18 hole tournament held each spring at the American Legion Country club.

There are 3 champions crowned at each event.  The Overall Champion, the Handicap Champion, and the Seniors Champion.  18 holes of golf are followed by an evening meal and Masters Ceremony  with prizes,  humor, special awards, and Green Jacket presentations.   The same green jacket first presented at the inaugural event in 1984 still hangs at the Club and is presented each year to a new recipient (fitting some better than others)

Past Champions include Cory Scamman (2011 Overall Champion), Martin Mulligan (2010 Overall Champion), Scott Mann (2009 Overall Champion), Bob Larson (Overall and Senior Championships), Gregg Connell,  Andy Dinges (2009 Handicap Champion), Jim Martin (Overall Champion) and Bryan Diekmann (2010 Handicap Champion) - just to name a few from recent years.

Some highlights from the 2012 event:
A short rain delay did not dampen the spirits, but perhaps the scores.  2012 marked the first year in recent memory that did not provide a sub-par winner.   Greg Scott played an impressive round to win with an even-par 70.  Bill Rigby shot an incredible net score of 61 to win the Handicap trophy, and Denny Beemer took home the Senior division crown with an impressive 73 scratch score.

A $10,000 hole-in-one contest once again went unclaimed, despite some very close shots that did succeed in winning "closest-to-the-pin" prizes.

The evening dinner and ceremony, attended nearly 70 of the golfers and guests featured:
      -  18 flag prizes generously donated by local residents, golfers, and businesses
      -  Additional special door prizes
      -  Skins winners
      -  Presentation of trophies, official Masters hats and Green Jackets to the 3 champions
      -  None in attendance felt safe as Bob The-Hit-Man Larson conducted the first "Know Your CCI Golfer" Game Show with contestants Kristi Vance, Jenni Fasbender, and Kristi O'Rourke.  Kristi O'Rourke was the only contestant to name the correct answer in the final round and the amazingly insignificant grand prize.
      -  In a very special highlight, the annual "Commissioner's Award"  was presented to Spike Spargur.  This award- in memory of Ron Slauter - is given each year to a recipient who exemplifies Ron's spirit, enthusiasm, and passion for golf and life.   All were appreciative of Spike's presence at the event and all that he  has brought to golf, and the City of Shenandoah over many years.  The award was accompanied by a video presentation featuring some amazing photos and news reports from Spikes multiple accomplishments.
     -  A special gift was also presented to Dan and Patti Dickerson from the many friends that will miss them as they embark on the next journey with their move to Arizona.

Hope to have another memorable event in 2013!

link to 2011 highlights


Golf Tips Of The Month



American Legion Country Club  -  1800 South Elm St. Shenandoah, IA 51601  -  712-246-3308  -  alcc@shenandoahiowagolf.com