2011 Highlights    |    2012 Highlights   |    2014 Highlights     |     2015 Highlights

The Shenandoah Masters

The Shenandoah Masters Golf Tournament is an invitational event that first began in 1984.  2016 marked the 32st playing of the Shenandoah Masters and it continues to be a highlight of the golf season.  This event is an 18 hole stroke-play tournament held each spring at the American Legion Country club.

There are 3 champions crowned at each event.  The Overall Champion, the Handicap Champion, and the Seniors Champion.  18 holes of golf are followed by an evening meal and Masters Ceremony  with prizes,  humor, special awards, and Green Jacket presentations.   The same green jacket first presented at the inaugural event in 1984 still hangs at the Club and is presented each year to a new recipient (fitting some better than others)

Past Champions include Cory Scamman (multiple Overall Champion), Steven Martin (2015 Overall Champion), Greg Scott (2012 Overall Champion) Martin Mulligan (2010 Overall Champion), Scott Mann (2009 Overall Champion), Bob Larson (Overall and Senior Championships), Gregg Connell,  Andy Dinges (2009 Handicap Champion), Jim Martin (Overall Champion) and Bryan Diekmann (2010 Handicap Champion) - just to name a few from recent years.

Some highlights from the 2016 event:
Sunshine and warm weather did not deter the 56 competitors for the 32nd Shenandoah Masters.  Andy Dinges shone brightest and took home the 2016 title as the Overall Champion with a 71.  Narrowly bettering three 2nd place finishers by 1 stroke (defending champion Steven Martin, playing partners Scott Mann and Darrin Bouray).

Denny Howard won the Senior Championship by a tie-breaker over previous Senior Champion Bill Ditmars - who both shot scores of 74.

Trent Blackman set a new Shenandoah Masters Handicap record with an unbelievable net score of 56 to take home the 2016 Handicap trophy!

A $10,000 hole-in-one contest was unclaimed - although closest-to-the-pin on that same hole was within a foot of the flagstick!

The evening dinner and ceremony, attended by roughly 75 of the golfers and guests featured:
      -  18 flag prizes generously donated by local residents, golfers, and businesses
      -  Additional special door prizes
      -  Skins winners
      -  Presentation of trophies, official Masters hats and Green Jackets to the 3 champions.
      -  Bob Larson gave his farewell roast of several in attendance with a "Kinder - Gentler" version of the ALCC version of Family Feud (which was anything but "kind" or "gentle")
      -  The annual Commissioners Award was presented to Dan Peterson.  This award- in memory of Ron Slauter - is given each year to a recipient who exemplifies Ron's spirit, enthusiasm, and passion for golf and life.   Dan has been a member of the ALCC for over 30 years.  He had greeted everyone with a welcoming smile over the course of those 30 + years.  Dan has volunteered countless hours assisting with equipment maintenance, mowing, and a number of other tasks to keep the country club looking, and operating, at it's best.  Dan - we thank-you for everything you do!!
Andy Dinges, Trent Blackman, and Denny Howard will look to defend their titles against the 2017 group of golfers who will be eager to take home crowns next year.  We look forward to the next Shenandoah Masters - coming soon in June of 2017!

Recent Masters Champions
Overall - Andy Dinges (71)
Senior - Denny Howard (74)
Handicap - Trent Blackman (net 56)

Overall - Steven Martin  (69)
Senior - Martin Mulligan (75)
Handicap - Josh Bard (net 63)

Overall - Cory Scamman (69 -playoff)
Senior - Bill Ditmars
Handicap - Ty Ratliff

Overall - Cory Scamman
Senior - Bob Larson
Handicap - Chuck Ward

Overall - Greg Scott
Senior - Denny Beemer
Handicap - Bill Rigby

Overall - Cory Scamman
Senior - Bob Larson
Handicap - Bob Vavra


American Legion Country Club  -  1800 South Elm St. Shenandoah, IA 51601  -  712-246-3308  -  alcc@shenandoahiowagolf.com